It’s Monday

Hello All,  Well, it is Monday and the weekend was great ! I was able to stay within my calorie goal, even going to our friends house for dinner on Saturday.  Chicken and salad for dinner and a great dessert of angel food cake, strawberries, blueberries and a little whipped cream.  Tasted great and only about 300 calories in that dessert.  In my last post, I promised you a couple of recipes.  Here they are:

GREAT TASTING LOW CALORIE VEGETABLE RECIPES

  1. ROASTED GRAPE TOMATOS

One pint of grape tomatoes

Olive oil/balsamic Vinegar/ dried oregano/ basil

Place tomatoes on a double layer of aluminum foil.  Pour a little olive oil over tomatoes. Sprinkle with oregano and fresh basil and a dash of balsamic vinegar.  Add a sprinkle of Mrs. Dash salt free seasoning.  Fold aluminum foil up around the tomatoes and fold to close tightly.  Place on hot grill or in the oven for about 15 minutes.  Enjoy !!!!  About 50 calories per 1 cup serving.

  1. Grilled Summer Vegetables

Summer Squash or Zucchini sliced length wise top to bottom in 1/3 inch slices.  Place on hot grill and brush on fat free Italian dressing.  Grill about 3 –  5 minutes until just softened.  Flip over and brush more dressing on the second side.  This is a great side dish with B/B-Q chicken.  One cup of these roasted vegetables has about 40 calories.  Really good.  Hint:  You can also do these on a George Foreman grill if it is too cold to grill outside.

  • Grilled Cheesy Garlic Corn

For those of you like me that cannot live without sweet corn in the summer, this recipe is great.  Husk corn and remove all silk.  Place each ear on aluminum foil.  Spray with substitute butter spray ( like “ I can’t believe it’s not butter” )  Sprinkle each ear with some garlic powder and some low fat parmesan cheese.  Wrap each ear up tightly and grill for about 15 minutes, turning frequently.  Really tasty and a serving of two ears (about 1 cup of corn) is about 190 calories.

I hope you enjoy these recipes as much as I do.  I will send a couple more of them later this week.

Cheers,    Dale

One Response to It’s Monday

  1. Gail says:

    Thanks for the recipes. Now all I have to do is try them! I tend to prefer most of my veggies raw, but I’ll try them at least once before I reject them. Who knows, you may start me on a new path – and since Terry normally grills, that may be another incentive *grin*.

Leave a Reply

