Hey My First Post

Welcome to my blog.  As a first time blogger, I am learning as I go here.  My blog is about getting healthy, something that has never been high on my agenda before now ( see my About page for background info on my life).  I am enrolled in a weight loss program called “MOVE”  which is a weight management program for veterans sponsored by the VA.  As with many other people, my weight has been on a roller coaster my entire life.  Up and down over and over, but usually higher each time I gain the weight back.  I  was a fat kid, a somewhat less fat teenager and a fat adult.  My highest weight was over 440 pounds which dropped to about 320 pounds over the last 10 years or so.  When I started the MOVE program, I was at 322 pounds.  That was April 21st of this year.  Today,  three months later, I have dropped 50 pounds  and now weigh 272 pounds.  Pretty incredible, right? 

The bottom line here is that I have not learned how to diet, but how to change my lifestyle to a much more healthy one.  Picking the right foods, counting calories and exercise are all contributing to my success.  The support from my family, friends and my fellow MOVE group buddies is incredible and is a major factor in making this work for me.  As we meet at the VA office, we discuss our goals, our fears and discuss what we eat that is right or wrong.  Keep in mind, that what is bad for one person is not always bad for someone else, based on your medical condition, age and general health.  Over the last three months, my friends and I have discussed things like calorie count per day, reading the labels on food in the grocery store and recipes.  After sending several vegetable recipes to some of my friends, they suggested that I start a food blog and publish healthy recipes that are now part of our everyday meals.  It is important to note that I am not a nutritionist and the calorie counts are estimates based on a calorie counting website.  My goal is to pass on some of the lessons that I have learned and provide great tasting and healthy recipes to you readers.  I hope you enjoy what I write and hopefully learn something as well.

6 Responses to Hey My First Post

  1. Amelia says:

    Welcome! It sounds as if you have already come along way with your healthy living goals. Good luck! 🙂

  2. Chuong says:

    It’s a terrific start! Keep it up Dale!

  3. whimsyweb says:

    Yay dad! I hope to see lots of family recipes in here so Rob and I don’t have to memorize them. 😉 Great job! – Cath

  4. Gail says:

    Congrats! both on the good start, and on the new blog. I’ve put it onto my Google Reader to make it easier to keep up.

  5. Michael Trulock says:

    This is a great idea. I look forward to following your blog. Keep up the good work.

  6. Ken Fredrickson says:

    Nice job – It is hard to point out our flaws in life – and you wrote how you are going to correct that problem – Life is a quick journey – we have to make the most of it while we live it – and we might as well be healthy and enjoy it more with our true friends and family –

    You continue to impress this old Air Force Vet – KG Fredrickson

Leave a Reply

